Tetralogy of Fallot

Tetralogy of Fallot

Tetralogy of fallot is the most common form of cyanotic heart defects, more commonly known as "blue babies." Infants are diagnosed at birth through an abnormal newborn screening, by detecting a murmur, or by seeing the baby is not a normal color.

Tetralogy of fallot includes four different heart problems:

  • Pulmonary stenosis (a narrowing of the blood vessel to the lungs)

  • An overriding aorta (the main blood vessel from the heart to the entire body is displaced)

  • A ventricular septal defect (hole in the wall between the lower two chambers of the heart)

  • Right ventricular hypertrophy (a thick muscle in the right pumping chamber)

Support Our Biggest Stars

Donate and help fund life-saving programs, research and support
for our pediatric patients. 

Learn more about giving to Inova Children's Heart Center